hope · purpose · Uncategorized

Oh Happppy Day

I think that I’m unable to express how I feel sometimes, or maybe it is the fact that people don’t care how I feel. I talk but my thoughts and feelings are often minimized. It’s as if my words are only the surface of how I’m feeling. I would explain this as to compare myself to an iceberg. What you can see is minute compared to the large structure hidden underneath the ocean. Very few people are concerned about what lies underneath because it takes work to see that part. Unfortunately, that’s the most amazing part to see.

Perhaps this is why you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover. You know nothing about what someone has been through. With that being said, people judge based on a negative meeting. It’s possible that someone who was rude or short may have found out the worst news of his/her life. People as consumers expect that they are always right and should get respect from everyone else. This is an evident phenomenon that occurs in customer service every day. Customers demand respect when it’s not always given. As someone who has waited tables and worked in retail in the past, I can say that no one is better than anyone else, and his/her feelings matter just as much as someone who has a “prestigious” job title.

I like to think I have an ocean of knowledge just from my life experiences. I continue to learn from my mistakes every day and consider these mistakes the best way of gaining wisdom. If you smashed your thumb because you held it on top of the nail, you’re going to hold it on the side next time. You live and you learn. Life can be trying, but it can also be beautiful. My personal outlook is that mistakes create perfection, and perfection is something I strive for. It is an unobtainable goal, but it leads me to push to be better than I was yesterday.

I suppose my point is that I have a lot to say but my words are often diregarded. I don’t pretend to know everything, but I do know what being belittled feels like. I know this through my own personal and professional life. I have been talked down to or not talked to at all. I’ve been ignored and yelled at and just not seen. I am more than what many have made me feel I am, which is small and unimportant. Don’t let anyone make you feel this way because you are better than that. If you give it all you’ve got and that’s not enough for someone, they don’t deserve you.

Leave a Reply

