anxiety · Counseling · depression · hope · purpose · Uncategorized

Counseling#2

I went to my second counseling session today. Although I’m honest about myself while I’m there, I always feel as if I’m holding back my feelings. I left with the desire to say so much more. I wonder if that’s normal?

I can say, however, from my conversation today, that it seems vital to make decisions based off of what will make you happy. I always put everyone else before myself because I’m a caring individual. Let me rephrase that…I’m an UNHAPPY caring individual.

When it comes to one’s own sanity and happiness, I think it is of great importance to be a little selfish. Why should everyone else be happy at your expense? Selfishness doesn’t mean you have to be mean or rude; it simply means you are putting your own problems (problems that you have likely ignored for far to long) before others’ issues.

I am the type of person who always gets taken advantage of and I suffer because I was trying to be kind in the first place. I don’t want that life anymore. I want respect from others, and I should demand that respect rather than allowing them to trample all over me and my feelings. People who work the hardest and have the kindest hearts suffer the most.

I think it’s important to end with this statement today. Follow your dreams even when others who don’t agree make you feel as if you’re making the wrong choices. You must follow your heart because you are all you have in the end. Don’t let family or friends deter you from doing what you want to do. Most of the time, people who are giving advice are trying to help, but they are only thinking about what they would want for themselves if in the same situation. Thus, you should look into opportunities to better yourself because you can be more than what you are.

Leave a Reply

